Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

CAI Honors Achievers at National Conference

7/15/1999  -  Alexandria, VA

The Community Associations Institute honored 24 individuals for achievement in education, publications, leadership, government and public affairs, membership recruitment and distinguished service at the Institute's recent 46th National Conference held in Denver. These prestigious awards honor members who have contributed significantly to the growth and achievement of the Institute.

Among the top award winners, Brent Herrington, PCAM, former President of CAI's Research Foundation, was presented with CAI's President's Award for exemplary service and commitment to the Institute. Marvin J. Nodiff Esq. received the Outstanding Volunteer Service Award for leadership and long-term dedication to the Institute and the community association industry.

Bill Overton, PCAM, was named CAI's Author of the Year for his work as editor of Community First!, published by CAI in 1999, and contributions to Common Ground™ magazine. Robert A. Felix, CMCA, PCAM, received the Educator of the Year Award for elevating the quality of CAI's educational programs. For their organizational excellence, strong member support and effectiveness, CAI's California Legislative Action Committee was named Legislative Action Committee of the Year.

The Byron R. Hanke Award honoring individuals who have provided outstanding service through education or research for homeowners was presented to New Jersey homeowner Jerome M. Fien. For his long-standing, extraordinary contributions to the Institute and CAI's Research Foundation, Wayne S. Hyatt Esq. was presented with the CAI Research Foundation's President's Award. Awards of Excellence were presented to Ronald Duprey, CMCA, AMS, PCAM, Chapter Leadership; Ross Feinberg Esq., Education; Louis Lutz, AMS, and Hugh Shaffer, CMCA, PCAM, Membership; and Pamela Dittmer McKuen, The Chicago Tribune, Consumer Education. Awards of Excellence in Government and Public Affairs were presented to Pamela Scott, CMCA, PCAM; Judy Farrah, CMCA, AMS, PCAM; and Thomas J. Hindman.

The CAI Super Star Award was presented to Richard E. Brooks Esq. for recruiting 72 new members in 1998. Claudette Carini, New England Chapter, was named Chapter Executive Director of the Year for her continuing contributions and support. Rising Star Awards were presented to two individuals who strive for greater accomplishments in the future: Judy Burd, CMCA, AMS, PCAM, and Lois K.R. Beaulne, CMCA, AMS, PCAM. Barbara Ozenbaugh, San Diego Chapter, and Dawn Thier, Central Arizona Chapter, were named Chapter Executive Director Rising Stars.

Awards were presented to dedicated chapters of CAI throughout the country for their achievements: New Hampshire and New Jersey chapters, Public Affairs; New Hampshire and San Diego chapters, Membership; Greater Houston chapter, Chapter Management and Development; and New England chapter, Leadership. The Channel Islands, New Hampshire, and San Diego chapters were recognized for outstanding Member Services.

CAI's Frequent Recruiter Club was established to honor those individuals who have excelled in their recruitment efforts. The Excalibur Award, for recruiting 200-299 new members, was presented to Margey Meyer, CMCA, PCAM, Greater Houston chapter; and the Century Award, 100-149 new members, was presented to Ellen Hirsch de Haan, Suncoast chapter. The Hall of Fame Award, 50-99 new members, was presented to Ron Duprey, Michigan chapter, Michael Pesce, New Jersey chapter, and Craig Wilson, Washington Metro chapter.

The Community Associations Institute is a nonprofit association created in 1973 to educate and represent the nation's 205,000 community associations—condominium associations, homeowners associations and cooperatives. CAI members include homeowners, associations and related professionals and service providers.

Phone: 703-970-9235