Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD)

​​​Fair Housing Act

The U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) administers and enforces the Fair Housing Act passed in 1968. This law protects people from discrimination when they are renting or buying a home, getting a mortgage, seeking housing assistance, or engaging in other housing-related activities.

Under this law, protected classes include:

  • ​Race
  • Color
  • National Origin​
  • ​​​​​Religion 
  • Sex
  • Familial Status​​
  • ​​​​Disability
  • Gender Identity
  • Sexu​al Orientation​

Discriminatory Covenants

The Fair Housing Act deemed discriminatory covenants illegal. CAI supports a process by which a governing board of a community association may remove antiquated and unenforceable discriminatory restrictions contained in covenants without a vote of the owners.Learn more here.​

Disability/Assistance Animals

To protect citizens with disabilities, community associations follow the guidance for assistance animals found in the Fair Housing Act. Learn more here.

Gender Identity/Transgender Discrimination

On January 20, 2021 President Joe Biden signed Executive Order 13988 on Preventing and Combating Discrimination on the Basis of Gender Identity or Sexual Orientation.

For more information, read our blog, "HUD to Prohibit Discrimination on the Basis of Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity".

Community Development Block Grant (CDBG)

The CDBG is one of the longest-running HUD programs that funds local community development activities such as affordable housing, anti-poverty programs, and infrastructure development. Click here see the laws and regulations.

HUD Homeownership Centers

The four regional Homeownership Centers that insure single family FHA mortgages and oversee the selling of HUD homes are located in Atlanta, GA;  Denver, CO; Philadelphia, PA; and Santa Ana, CA. To determine the jurisdictional HOC for a specific state, visit the HUD website.